How do you know if someone has bought something off your Amazon Wishlist? Amazon’s Wishlist may notify you on the item’s page when someone’s purchased an item on your list. You can also see by selecting “Purchased” or “Purchased and Unpurchased” from the “Filter & Sort” drop-down menu at the top of your list.
To change your Purchased Item filter settings;
Go to “Your Lists.” Select the list you'd like to edit. Click "Manage list." Under the shipping address you’ll see “Keep purchased items on your list,” “Don’t spoil my surprises,” and “Default list.” Make sure to uncheck “Keep purchased items on your list.” If checked, it will keep all items on your list even if someone has bought it (the bought item will be highlighted along with the date). Check “Don't spoil my surprises” if you want to keep your gift purchases a secret until after delivery, or otherwise uncheck it. You can apply this setting to each list via the drop-down menu at the top. “Save Changes.” Note: The Purchased Item filter and warnings only appear when you're logged in to your account.
If you create a gift list, then choose the “Don’t spoil my surprises” option. The "Don't spoil my surprises" setting is on default so your gift purchases will remain secret for several weeks. It will continue to appear as “Unpurchased” during this period.
If you try to buy an item that has already been gifted, you should receive a warning to protect you against duplicate purchases.